Trip Down Wonder Lane

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wonder

Reflective Reyn

As the rest of the kids his age were running around or driving their respective parents mad, my godson-nephew sat quietly eating his brownie. Taken on Christmas day in 2009 during the annual family reunion, I’d spotted him in this pseudo-trance wondering what he was wondering about.

Reyn Wondering

A child’s wonderment

Curious Doggies

I met my father’s dog, Lars (I prefer to call him Lars Boom after one famous cyclist), during my trip back home in 2010. We had stopped by Jollibee (a famous fast food chain in the Philippines) from the airport to grab some burgers and had decided to get Lars some ice cream. Look how curious he is.

Lars Boom Wonders

What’s this I’m eating?

Dogs never seem to run out of curiosity, I believe. Another example is this young husky I met at the park today. He was probably looking for a place to dispose his intestinal or bladder baggage.

Doggie Wonders

Something smells interesting

Wonderful Work

Man-made works of art can also be a source of fascination. Adding an awesome sight to an otherwise drab transit location is this stained glass ceiling at the train station in Kaohsiung (Southern Taiwan).

Kaohsiung MRT

Wonder-struck at KRT

10 thoughts on “Trip Down Wonder Lane

    • Lars is indeed a cutie and quite a mischief too. He’s a lot bigger now and his breed (I have no idea what it is) tends to be on the robust side so my father said when Lars jumps on people who are unprepared, they’re likely to fall over.

  1. I was watching my dog stop to sniff everything on our walk last night and I started to wonder, too. “What is he thinking about all those smells? Is it the dog equivalent of reading a bulletin board? Are all the different smells setting up different trains of thought for him? Can he tell them all apart? Which ones are the most interesting to him and why?”
    I tried to imagine for a little while, what it would be like to have a dog’s mind, but it was beyond me. It ached a little bit though, to all of a sudden feel how huge the divide was between us, how much there is that we can never share. But then this morning he walked over and climbed into my lap (he’s 100 pounds) and arched his head back against my shoulder, inviting my caresses. I adored him. I guess we can still communicate about enough.

    • Yes. We could only wonder what they’re thinking.

      Wow! That is one big (I mean that with all due respect) dog. Mine (Snickers was her name) was a lap dog so she was small enough to carry (still a bit hefty though as my family seemed to enjoy feeding her). I can relate to your story. Once I was completely upset and was crying, Snickers just lay on the floor beside me and put her head on my lap (I was sitting on the floor). I could see it in her eyes. She understood me. The bond we share with our dogs is beautiful and they really are pretty smart.

Help me find my way.

