Traditional Taiwanese Breakfast

Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast

Breakfast shops are common in Taiwan. I typically head out to any of the traditional shops around my apartment (more than one within single mile radius), and have some soy milk.

Traditional Taiwanese Breakfast Shop

For my dose of soy milk (similar to what the man on the left is holding)

These shops are usually open from 5 in the afternoon until 11 in the morning the following day; they’re open all night. They sell a wide variety of food stuff; some are fried, some are baked (traditional oven) and some are steamed. I personally like the steamed vegetable buns (tsài bāo), steamed red bean buns (hóngdòu bāo), steamed pot stickers (or dumplings – xiǎo lóng bāo) and the baked taro pastry, that round purplish ball you’ll see slightly off center in the picture below (I am yet to figure out the Chinese name for it since I usually just pick it out); which go with soy milk (dòujiāng). A quick note on the soy milk here: It tastes nothing like the soy milk I’ve tried in other countries (The soy milk in Cebu is very close but that’s probably because of the strong Chinese influence there.) or those bottled and sold in the department store. It’s got that earthy soy texture; nothing artificial and it’s not too sweet.

Traditional Breakfast Goodies

What shall we be having this morning?

The ladies watching the shop this morning were absolutely friendly (considering that I completely forgot how to say “May I take some pictures?” in Chinese and went with the usual, point-at-my-camera gesture). One of them even stopped to give me this smile.

Traditional Taiwanese Breakfast Lady

Thank you, miss!

If you ever find yourself in Taipei and I’m not travelling elsewhere, I’ll take you to one of these shops. My treat. :)

Related Articles

19 thoughts on “Traditional Taiwanese Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast « Cheryl Andrews

      • Thank you thirdhandart and ahhhpoetry! :)

        That shot actually surprised me. I hadn’t intended to take her picture since she was attending to a hurrying customer. I guess she looked up when I clicked. When I looked through the pictures, I was pleasantly surprised. :)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  3. Pingback: 20 NOVEMBER 2011 : ONE VERY HOT DAY. « 2011 – ON THE BENCH

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast | this man's journey

    • It is a quaint part of town. I live outside Taipei City (Now called New Taipei City but when I first arrived here it was Taipei County.). My neighbors are mostly older people and families so you can imagine the vibe. It’s definitely more laid-back compared to living in the metropolis.

    • And thank you for dropping by, Bongo. :)

      The internet is cool that way, isn’t it? It connects people from different cultures; allowing us to learn a little about the other.

  5. I am going to time my visit to Taiwan (whenever that happens) for when you’re there. Not for piggy-back riding of the treat, but for your very interesting perspectives of looking at things, and presenting them. The fare is all mouthwatering, so that’s going to be an additional advantage.

    The smiling lady’s picture is my favourite, too.

    • You’re always welcome to come by, Priya.

      Thank you for your words. I think I am more drawn to the culture of Taiwan; not so much of the touristy things. It’s a good way to know the heart of the country.

Help me find my way.

