My Lover’s Mistress

 

She

Takes his

Breath away

Makes him swoon, sigh

Like a schoolboy’s crush

He speaks highly of her

Silly grins, endless tales of

Their shared time inspire discourses

I don’t mind my beau’s indiscretions

The red-hot mistress is his bicycle

 

22 November 2011 | ©Nel 2011

 

Side Note: I’ve never heard of the Etheree until I found one on Priya’s Looking Glass (partialview.wordpress.com). Curiosity, as it always does, prodded me to search further and yielded the interesting fact that the Etheree is the brainchild of Etheree Taylor Armstrong. It is a titled form, consisting of ten lines of unmetered and unrhymed verse, the first line having one syllable, each succeeding line adding a syllable, with the total syllable count being fifty-five.(source here)

13 thoughts on “My Lover’s Mistress

  1. She’s naughty, the one who writes about her lover and his mistress. The words all ooze her impish delight in conning the reader. Perfect for the picture, and vice versa!

    • Thank you for taking the time to read, Priya.

      But most of all, thank you for giving me inspiration to write it. I wouldn’t have discovered the Etheree had you not shared yours. :)

    • It’s a fun form to work with, Bongo. (“,) Why don’t you give it a try? I’m sure you’ll come up with something witty.

  2. Loved the poem. It’s spicy!! ;) and now I must thank you for Etheree concept, I had seen this kind of poetry but didn’t knew its name till now. Hoping to create my own poem like this soon.

    P.S. Thanks for visiting my blog :)

    • Neha,

      Please let me know when you’ve created your own so I can check it out. I also just recently discovered the etheree through a blogger/friend of mine. Her name’s Priya (partialview.wordpress.com).

      Thanks for leaving kind words during your visit.

Help me find my way.

