It’s THAT Time of the Year

Chinese New Year (CNY) is fast approaching. In honor of this tradition, here’s a peak peek of how I’ve spent it since coming to Taiwan.

2008

Pat (or P), one of my Filipino classmates in grad school, and I spent our first Chinese New Year in the northern coastal area of Keelung. It rained day-in and day-out for our entire stay there but that didn’t dampen the festive mood as we were very lucky to spend it with Alan’s (or H’s – H is short for “Handsome”. He’s in the batch ahead of us.) family.

P and I greeting the new year with sparklers

H's lovely and endearing family playing a game of cards. Yes, money was involved. ;)

2009

Opting for warmer weather, P (again) and I headed down south to Tainan and Kaohsiung. We were hosted by our friends Derrick, Kimi and Riva.

P checking out cannons at Anping Port in Tainan City, Taiwan

Happy to be at the beach on a sunny day. The wind was blowing sand about.

2010

I decided to visit some friends in the west coast of the US for 2010; a much-needed change of scenery and of company.

First-ever encounter with snow at Mt. Charleston, LV. Quite fascinated with fallen pine cones too.

2011

Having just started a new job and moved into a new apartment, I spent the last CNY in the comfort of Taipei. I don’t remember much of the mundane things I did and don’t have pictures of that time; mostly I’d just go out for a run, hit the gym, or read.

2012

2012 is the Year of the Dragon. It is believed that if one is born during a Dragon year, fortune will be in his/her favor. I was born under a different sign but I am still relatively lucky because I’m about to go on a break; again a much-needed one. This time of the year for me really just means a time to recuperate and gather my bearings. When I get back, you’ll hear or read all about it here.

In the meantime, please accept my sincere, even if pre-emptive (since CNY isn’t until January 23) greeting – 新年快樂 (Xīn Nián Kuài Lè)! May your Year of the Dragon be filled with luck, good health and prosperity.

7 thoughts on “It’s THAT Time of the Year

  1. I enjoyed seeing pictures from all your New Year adventures. I’ve got lots of fallen pine cones in my front yards. Sometimes I like to chomp on them. You actually were only a few hours drive from my person and I when you were at Mt. Charleston.

Help me find my way.

